The “Junk Drawer” Brought Me To Tears

We all have them, the drawers we fill with miscellaneous crap.  At our house they are called “Junk Drawers” Most organized  kitchens have one junk drawer, at my house there are several.

We are getting ready to start our kitchen remodel so we have taken on the daunting task of cleaning out the kitchen cabinets.  I have found 500 kabob skewers, 6 jars of cumin and enough cinnamon to last me a lifetime.

You never realize how many memories a kitchen holds.  It truly is the heart of the home.  Tonight as I tackled one of the island junk drawers, (Emily’s drawer) before I knew it I was a puddle on the floor. I never expected that in that little drawer I would find little reminders of the last eighteen years.

Art pencils, craft supplies, and drawings bring back vivid memories of her at the kitchen table sketching or crafting a project for school.

There were packs of her favorite Tick and Dora pencils (she asked for those for Christmas in first grade the real name is Ticonderoga).

Sheet music, music staff stickers and hand warmers from her days in band.

My Pretty Pony coloring books, waterpark wristbands, key chains from family vacations, a letter to us about putting in a pool, a school ID from Junior High, a funny photo book she and a friend made, a nose pencil sharpener and so much more.

Eighteen years of memories in that one little drawer.  Time flies my friends,  time flies.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

